My Tuesday companies – Mitch and Morrie

Have you ever thought of the word “death” ? I have never thought of that word until my first contact with the popular book “Tuesdays with Morris.” Written by Mitch Albom.

This is a real story that had actually happened to Mitch. Morrie was his college professor, also the teacher of his life. The reason why I choose this book as my reading assignment is because this is the very first book that brings me to think about what life and death is. These two topics might sound serious. But once you look into it, you will find that those two topics are actually interesting.

What is life? Is it just a matter of surviving or living your life? No. The most important thing in life is to learn how to give out love, and to let it come in. Living a life with no goal, no determination, it cannot be called a life at all. A real life is to explore the world, spread out love, give out your passion, and last, embrace your luck of being on this world. When life starts out our journey, the ultimate destination is also already there, and that is death.

Death, what a terrible word! To most Taiwanese, we feared the word death. Most of us even avoid saying it. However, Morrie and Mitch didn’t think so. I think their definition to death is great. They asked : “Everyone knows someone who has died, but why is it so hard to think about dying?” The key word is courage. If you have the courage, you can face anything. Not only death, but also the deepest fear in your heart. When you get courage, it’s like a car with the strongest gear on the world, you can drive to anywhere you want. But how can we have enough courage? The golden point is to know yourself. People often said : “Getting to know yourself is the most difficult thing.” Indeed. We are often blind with fame, money, and those material stuffs. But what really matters to us is the spirit! Everyone has a little spirit living in their body. While the outer of your body die away, your spirit lives on. As so on, even we die, we need not to be afraid. Death, is the end of our journey. But facing and learning the lesson Death is another beginning. Just like a eastern idiom said: “When you close this window, there’s another one waiting for you to open it.”

There is always an end to the journey. Tuesdays with Morrie and Mitch had really made me to think about my life. As a student, my first job is to get into a good university. But is that all I want? Grades? Exams? Schools? or even fames? I don’t think so. I want to color my life, I want to be on the debate team again, I want to go to Europe, I want to be a better person etc. There’s still a lot I want to do. However, study is the first priority. I know this year will be tough, but I am ready! For those things I want to do, I want to make it happen. Make impossible possible. After all, no one is perfect, I got to work it. No fear, No doubt. Only Courage!!! Just do it!

2 Comments

Filed under writings

2 responses to “My Tuesday companies – Mitch and Morrie

  1. joseph

    A

    Dear Tina,

    You are doing a nice work on this afterthought. You have shared many of your and the author’s valubale ideas about life and death, and many other important lessons about journey between the beginning and the end. Nice work you did!!

    Some minor mistakes:
    I want to colorful my life, –> “colorful” is an adj, not a verb.

    study is priority.–> …is the “first/top” priority.

    best wishes,
    Joseph

  2. JOSEF

    A

    I am very sorry that I am the one who forgot to leave a note!
    You have done a nice work! the Book is also one of my favorite!!
    Great pick!!

    Is it just simply meaning living?
    (Awkward)
    better : Is it just a matter of surviving or living your life?

Leave a Reply

